Back to work: I made it

Posted: May 8, 2014 in health, Work
Tags: , , ,

After some time off work I’ve now made the return back into the office. I’m into my 3rd week, and getting used to being back there.

Thankfully I’ve been given the chance to phase back in so I’m currently doing reduced hours. The company, and particularly my boss, have been excellent in helping me back to work.

My main aim for day one was to make the journey without stopping at the service station to panic about it all. My tactic of driving in the fast lane ensured I wasn’t able to pull off the motorway.

Day one went pretty well, I met my manager and discussed the plans for the next 2 weeks. After that I said hello to a few of the team. People are genuinely very supportive and seemed to be pleased to see me back in work. That really helped me and eased some of the anxieties I had about facing people.

I’ve started working on small manageable pieces of work, and slowly adding more and more to my workload. This again is with some great support from my manager.

So far things are going really well, and I feel I’m on top of things. I’m happy to write a post on here that is positive and shows how far I’ve come in the last few months. I still believe talking and being open about things is the right way to handle it all.

Keeping focused and positive

Leave a Reply

