Back to work: part 2

Posted: April 24, 2014 in health, Work
Tags: , , , ,

The date I had set for going back to work is being put back slightly. A few more days is not going to make much difference in a) how ready I am to go back and b) what I will say to anyone that asks about my long absence.

Regarding (a), I am very positive about going back, and feel able to deal with my job again. Even rereading my original time to talk post where I talk about indecision, highlights how much better I am feeling. I am in a much brighter place, I have a much calmer mind and I’m able to deal with things as and when they crop up without having a minor panic. For the record, I’d choose both cheese and ham, so that ones a no brainer.

Regarding (b), I’m not really sure how I’m going to react if people ask about my absence. I spoke to HR a few days ago and they said it might be worth thinking about what I’ll say to people. I also got some advice from someone telling me that people are so involved in their own business they probably won’t even bother about my presence or lack thereof. (I don’t mean that in a nasty way, people just have their own stuff going on). I imagine I’ll be honest with people, after all the details are here for anyone to read, so I’m not going to be able to make up another story.

I’ve got a meeting planned this week with my boss, which is where we can discuss the back to work plan, and any assistance I might need. (I don’t think I need a great deal, but I guess the fact my boss knows everything is a good thing). They’ve been really good with the whole situation, and I’m looking at this weeks meeting as a very positive thing, and hopefully a fresh start for me in this job.

Working towards my goals

Leave a Reply

