Mind over matter

Posted: March 30, 2014 in health
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve often wondered whether mental health problems are purely chemical or situational.

I’ve given this a lot more thought lately for two reasons. Firstly I’ve spoken to a counsellor who firmly believes my mental state is situational and down to the events over the last few years (without delving into it there’s been births, deaths and illness in my life). She also discussed other life events such as my parents divorcing when I was very young. The second thing that got me thinking about it again was having a long talk to my dad about not only my situation, but our family history of mental health problems (purely on his side as far as I know).

For me I want to find an answer, so it’s very easy to latch onto the family history and then lay claim to an inherited illness that I have no control over. However, I do think this is only part of the story. My psyche is built up over a life time of events, some good and some bad. It’s putting the events in my life together along with any inherited chemical problems that makes up the whole picture.

I agree that depression (or insert other label here) is down to the chemical imbalance, which can be triggered by the events and situations in life. With this in mind I think the recovery process has to involve both drugs (to address the chemicals) and therapies (to address the thinking patterns we have going on in the mind). I am part way through both forms of treatment, and do feel like the drugs are laying the ground work for me to then deal with events and situations.

The road to recovery is not only rocky, it’s also very long and curvy. I like to picture myself getting on a train alongside the ‘road’ and journeying along beside the bending road. On a good day I’m sitting peacefully on the train, gazing happily at the quiet road beside me, but on a bad day I’m running along, barefoot and flustered, trying to catch the train whilst avoiding the noisy traffic on the busy road beside me.

Drive safely

Comments
  1. Valerie says:

    You know, I think you’re right about it being a combination treatment, at least until the way a person’s thinking changes. Patterns in thinking can affect SOOO much!! This can, of course, be a very good thing, but it can also be a terrible thing (as I’m sure you are well aware). I’m glad to hear you are finding both forms of treatments to be helpful. 🙂
    “On a good day I’m sitting peacefully on the train, gazing happily at the quiet road beside me, but on a bad day I’m running along, barefoot and flustered, trying to catch the train whilst avoiding the noisy traffic on the busy road beside me. ” – Unfortunately, I experience this with hormonal changes every dang month!! For a solid week every month, life is GOOD, and then…well, it slowly goes down. *sigh* LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

