Sleep vs depression, try meditation

Posted: February 16, 2014 in health
Tags: , , , ,

There’s an ongoing rivalry between sleep and depression. The battle can be a difficult one to stay on top of. Too little sleep can make you feel out of sorts and too much sleep can make you feel lethargic and wanting more sleep.

On the other hand if you’re feeling depressed then all you want to do is sleep; If you’re feeling anxious then you actually struggle getting to sleep or staying asleep.

For many people the right sleep cycle is very important. I was thinking about trying an app that monitors your sleep and will wake you at the right moment in your sleep cycle. This sounds like a good idea, but with a 2 year old and a week old baby in the house I’ve decided not to bother with the app. I have my own set of alarms (read cries) to wake me from my slumber 😉

Today I am very grateful for my amazing mrs who is doing most of the night time waking and I am sleeping pretty well.

There’s some more information about sleep and relaxation in this article. One thing I’ve started trying is short meditation sessions. There’s a lot of information on the web about ‘mindfulness’ and I have tried the first few sessions of the headspace app which is very good, I’d definitely recommend it.

Someone told me this week of several Tibetan monks that went away to meditate for 3 years, 3 months and 3 days. Their theory was that with the relaxed state of mind that meditation would bring they would not need to sleep. I’m not sure I will take meditation to this extreme, but it’s certainly something I’m going to try and keep up, 10 minutes a day is all it takes.

Sleep well…

Comments
  1. […] Sleep vs depression, try meditation […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

